The Whitebred Shorthorn Association

Anna Pattinson
High Shield Farm, Bardon Mill
Hexham, Northumberland NE47 7AJ
Tel: 01434 344 716

History of the Whitebred Shorthorn


Larriston NewcastletonThe exact origin and birthplace of the Whitebred Shorthorn is not known, but it is known that it aroused interest in the Border country over 100 years ago when the breed was referred to as the Cumberland White.

One of the early pioneers and founders of the breed was Mr David Hall of Larriston, Newcastleton Roxburghshire, who, along with Mr Andrew Park of Stelshaw, Bailey, Cumberland sold Blue-grey suckled calves at Newcastleton suckler sales way back in the late 19th Century.

These two breeders had found the Bluegrey's to be fast maturing cattle valued highly be feeders of beef.

These popular Blue-grey cattle were the product of the crossing of the hardy Galloway cow with the Whitebred Shorthorn Bull many of which came from Cumberland.

Formation of the Whitebred Shorthorn Association

It became increasingly obvious that the cross between the hardy Galloway cow and the Whitebred Shorthorn bull was producing fast maturing store cattle and it became essential that these quick maturing characteristics in existing breeds of hill cattle be developed.

Roland Johnson

T. Roland Johnson
(1962 -1964)

John Kirkpatrick
John Kirkpatrick
Official Auctioneer &
(1964 -1966)
Eric Stokoe
Eric Stokoe
(1962 -1977)

In order to preserve the identity of the Whitebred Shorthorn, a meeting of interested parties together with JE Campion, GH Barnes, SAC Oliver and AD Tweddle who were all advisory representatives from the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries & Food. was held on Monday 18th December 1961, at Greenhead Hotel in Northumberland, where it was decided to consider the formation of a breed society.

At a public meeting in Greenhead Hotel on 12th March 1962, almost 200 interested breeders voted overwhelmingly to form The Whitebred Shorthorn Association.

The first Council was elected under the Chairmanship of Roland Johnson with John Kirkpatrick (Auctioneer) as Vice Chairman.

Eric Stokoe, a cashier with Harrison & Hetherington Ltd., Auctioneers, was invited to take on the Secretarial duties of the Association.

After cattle had been inspected from 134 herds, 2310 males and 506 females were entered in the first herdbook.

First Council of Management
T. R. Johnson, Limestonebrae, Carrshield, Hexham (Chairman)
J. Kirkpatrick, 6 Whiteclosegate, Carlisle (Vice-Chairman)
J. S. Arres, Lustruther, Hawick, Roxburghshire
J. Armstrong, Carrick, Elsdon, Newcastle on Tyne
G. L. Bell, Broomholmshields, Langholm, Dumfriesshire
A. Beattie, Park House, Canonbie, Dumfriesshire
J. Calvert, Greensburn, West Hall, Brampton, Cumberland
R. Dodd, Gilbert House, Moffat, Dumfriesshire
D. Dargue, Smardale Hall, Kirkby Stephen, Cumberland
R. D. Forster, Hassendean, Hawick, Roxburghshire
J. Graham, Raeburn, Longtown, Cumberland
J. Henderson, Murtholm, Langholm, Dumfriesshire
J. Harrison, Aimshaugh, Alston, Cumberland
T. N. Hill, Clea Hall, Wigton, Cumberland
R. H. Hedley, Flatt, Newcastleton, Roxburghshire
J. Ions, Thorneyburn, Falstone, Hexham, Northumberland
E. Jeffrey, Standburn, Lockerbie, Dumfriesshire
F. Lee, Ninebanks, Whitfield, Hexham, Northumberland
G. Mitchinson, Gallowberry, Kirkcambeck, Brampton, Cumberland
J. G. Nixon, Hallees, Longtown, Cumberland
J. E. Nixon, Goatstones, Simonburn, Hexham, Northumberland
W. Noble, Old Irvine, Canonbie, Dumfriesshire
J. Oliver, Cawfields, Haltwhistle, Northumberland
R. C. Robinson, Askerton Castle, Brampton, Cumberland
T. H. Smith, Cleugh Head, Brampton, Cumberland
J. Telford, Holmehead, Roadhead, Carlisle, Cumberland
W. Tully, Sewingshields, Haydon Bridge, Hexham, Northumberland
R. N. Waugh, Row, Roadhead, Carlisle, Cumberland
T. M. Waugh, Eskin, Wythop, Cockermouth, Cumberland
G. D. Walton, Allensgreen, Bardon Mill, Hexham, Northumberland

Chairmen of the Association
T Roland Johnson 1962 – 1964
John Kirkpatrick 1964 – 1966
Tom H Smith 1966 – 1968
Robert C Robinson 1968 -1970
Raymond P Johnson Fergusson 1970 – 1972
George L Bell 1972 – 1974
Tom N Hill 1974 – 1976
Peter M Gordon 1976 – 1978
Hugh C Johnson 1978 – 1980
John Tailford 1980 - 1982
Robin B Hope 1982 – 1984
Ian C Robinson 1984 -1986
George Bell 1986 – 1988
William Wallace 1988 - 1990
Keith Laurie 1990 – 1992
John Whitfield 1992 – 1994
Bryan Hough 1994 – 1996
Alex Roskell 1996 – 1998
George Bell 1998 – 2000
John Christie 2000 – 2004
George Bell 2004 – 2006
Adrian A Wheelwright 2006 - 2013
Tom Robinson 2013 - 2014
Donald Hendry 2014 - 2016
Trevor Wallace 2016 - 2019
John Pattinson 2019 -

Secretaries to the Association
Eric Stokoe 1962 - 1977
Rosie Mitchinson 1977 - 2013
Jane Wilson 2013 - 2016
Sarah Bell 2016 - 2017
Jane Wilson 2017 - 2019
Anna Pattinson 2019 -

Early Whitebred Shorthorn Sales>>

Show & Open Day History>>

Association Sale Judges>>

Blue Grey Sale History>>



Spring Sale Report

Stock Register Update


Copyright © 1998 - 2020 Whitebred Shorthorn Association
Registered Office: FIFTEEN Rosehill, Montgomery Way, Rosehill Estate, Carlisle CA1 2RW
Registered Charity No. 276217